Press "Enter" to skip to content

Coastal Regulation Zone

iqfunda 0

Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change has notified the 2019 Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) norms, replacing the CRZ norms of 2011.

The CRZ was issued under the Environment Protection Act, 1986, it aims to promote sustainable development based on scientific principles.

Two separate categories for CRZ-III (Rural) areas:

CRZ-III A – The A category of CRZ-III areas are densely populated rural areas with a population density of 2161 per square kilometer as per the 2011 Census.

Such areas have a No Development Zone (NDZ) of 50 meters from the High Tide Line (HTL) as against 200 meters from the High Tide Line stipulated in the CRZ Notification, 2011.

CRZ-III B – The B category of CRZ-III rural areas have a population density of below 2161 per square kilometer as per the 2011 Census.

Such areas have a No Development Zone of 200 meters from the HTL.

Floor Space Index Norms eased – As per CRZ, 2011 Notification, the Floor Space Index (FSI) or the Floor Area Ratio (FAR) had been frozen.

As per the latest notification, the government has decided to de-freeze the Floor Space Index and permit FSI for construction projects.

Tourism infrastructure permitted in coastal areas – The new norms permit temporary tourism facilities such as shacks, toilet blocks, change rooms, drinking water facilities, etc. in Beaches.

Streamlining of CRZ Clearances – The procedure for CRZ clearances has been streamlined.

Now, the only such projects which are located in the CRZ-I (Ecologically Sensitive Areas) and CRZ IV (area covered between Low Tide Line and 12 Nautical Miles seaward) will be dealt with for CRZ clearance by the Ministry.

The powers for clearances with respect to CRZ-II and III have been delegated at the State level.

No Development Zone of 20 meters for all Islands – For islands close to the mainland coast and for all Backwater Islands in the mainland, No Development Zone of 20 meters has been stipulated in wake of space limitations and unique geography of such regions.

Pollution abatement – To address pollution in Coastal areas, the treatment facilities have been made permissible in CRZ-I B area subject to necessary safeguards.

Critically Vulnerable Coastal Areas (CVCA) –  Sundarban region of West Bengal and other ecologically sensitive areas identified as under Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 such as Gulf of Khambat and Gulf of Kutchh in Gujarat, Achra-Ratnagiri in Maharashtra, Karwar, and Coondapur in Karnataka, Vembanad in Kerala, Gulf of Mannar in Tamil Nadu, Bhaitarkanika in Odisha and Krishna in Andhra Pradesh are treated as Critical Vulnerable Coastal Areas.

These Critical Vulnerable Coastal Areas will be managed with the involvement of coastal communities including fisherfolk.

Tyler Prize 2020

Established in 1973 by the late John and Alice Tyler, the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement is one of the first international premier environmental awards.

This global environmental prize recognizes individuals who have contributed in an outstanding manner to the scientific knowledge and public leadership to preserve and enhance the environment of the world.

Recipients encompass the spectrum of environmental concerns, including environmental policy, health, air and water pollution, ecosystem disruption and loss of biodiversity, and energy resources.

The Tyler Prize 2020 is honored to recognize two remarkable individuals, both pioneers in illuminating and quantifying the economic value of our natural environment.

PavanSukhdev published The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity (TEEB) report in 2008 as an initiative for the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

TEEB has since become a leading global initiative focused on “making nature’s values visible”.

For the first time, this initiative quantified the economic value of ‘natural capital’ and how moving towards a green economy could be a source of new employment and a means to alleviate poverty.

Sukhdev will be sharing the award with Gretchen C Daily, director of the Centre for Conservation Biology at Stanford University and co-founder of Natural Capital (NatCap).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *